Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Before Peter Pan belonged to Wendy, he belonged to the girl
with the crow feather in her hair… Tiger Lily. When fifteen-year-old Tiger Lily meets the alluring teenage Peter Pan deep in the forbidden woods of Neverland, the two form a bond that’s impossible to break, but also impossible to hold on to. As the leader of the Lost Boys, the most fearsome of Neverland’s inhabitants, Peter is an unthinkable match for Tiger Lily. However, when Wendy Darling, a girl who is everything Tiger Lily is not, arrives on the island, Tiger Lily discovers how far she is willing to go to keep Peter with her, and in Neverland.

Told from the perspective of tiny, fairy-sized Tinkerbell, Tiger Lily is the breathtaking story of budding romance, letting go and the pains of growing up.

I have been wanting to read this book for eons, and I stumbled upon it on my trip to Barnes and Nobels today. I snatched it up and held it to my heart like a baby.

The cover is quite pretty, the font could be better. But I mean- it’s Peter Pan, more importantly- it’s Tiger Lily.

So story time:

In eighth grade my school did a Peter Pan play. In eighth grade, I was lanky and flat and wild (still am), and got cast as a Lost Boy. The boys and I got to smear brown face paint all over and wear ripped up, wrinkled clothes.

That was probably one of the best things I have ever done in my life, and left a resounding footprint in my memory trail that will always be there.

Where am I going with this story? Uhhh…  Peter Pan is very close to my heart.

I knew from the start I would love this book. I never read anything else by Jodi Lynn Anderson, but I scoured Goodreads and YouTube for Tiger Lily reviews and such.

Everything about this book is just- gahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. I mean. Come on. It’s Tiger Lily. It’s Peter Pan. It’s beautiful. It’s melancholy. It’s horrifically twisted and terrible in the best way possible.

Let’s all take a moment to try to wrap our brains around HOW HUMANS THOUGHT OF THIS IDEA. JODI LYNN ANDERSON. PLEASE ANSWER ME. HOW?!

This book made me gasp and squeal and cry. I knew I was about to hit with an avalanche of exquisite writing when I opened this book, and my expectations were over achieved.

Just listen to this, “Let me tell you something straight off. This is a love story, but not like any you’ve ever heard. The boy and the girl are far from innocent. Dear lives are lost. And good doesn’t win. In some places, there is something ultimately good about endings. In Neverland, that is not the case.”

That was the first few lines of the book. That is the first thing  I read when I opened this fabulous book.

Come on.

Read it.

I know a lot of people are deterred from retellings of classic tales because a lot of then can be predictable, unoriginal, and just plain boring. Tiger Lily is not one of those.

First of all. In the classic Disney Peter Pan film, Tinker Bell kinda came off as a jerk. Okay, not kinda. She was a jerk.

In Jodi Lynn Anderson’s version, I can totally see how Tink is so verified in being rude to the “Wendy bird.” In fact, this book basically made me hate Wendy. I know Wendy isn’t an immediate favorite among fairy tale fanatics, but in Tiger Lily, Wendy was more  than just… ehh.

Wendy was the polar opposite of Tiger Lily. If Tiger Lily was a galaxy- Wendy would be a tree, or something completely unrelated. Tiger Lily had been through trials and tribulations and was cautious with opening up with anybody. Wendy was spoiled and sure that she would get what she wanted, how she wanted it and believed that she could bend Peter to her own will.

Okay. Okay. Enough.

Just know that at the end of the book, you’ll be crying.

Review by Annabel Lee

~Thank you so much for taking your PRECIOUS PRECIOUS time to read a mere human being’s opinions. I love you! I love you! Please show some love back by commenting what you thought about this book, or what book you’re excited to read!

One thought on “Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Leave a Reply

