Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother-or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or get up.

Today, I finally brought myself to watch the Fith Wave movie. I know, about time right?

But the reason I couldn’t watch the movie were the multiple problems I had with the cast. First and foremost: Hollywood has a problem with whitewashing characters. 

Ringer was my favorite character in this whole book. 

Cinder, Scarlet, and  Celaena Sardothien (Aelin) are all my all time favs and winnrs of the Annabel Award of kickass female characters. Ringer won the award as well, because of her awesome no-nonsense attitude and her iconic line, “. 

I also loved her because if her diverse ethnic background. Too many young adult books nowadays are all so whitewashed it’s like a whole new dystopian universe where everyone is Caucasion (that means white).  In Infinte Sea, the sequel to Fifth Wave Ringer is described as having “,jet-black hair, glossy, and perfectly, annoyingly straight, and 3/4 Asian and 1/4 native american.” 


Now can somebody please explain to be how blonde haired Maika Monroe got the part of my favorite character? 

3/4 Asian? We can just dye her hair black right?

Okay, that is sick and racist and terrible, and I am so sorry that Asians are not showcased in Hollywood nearly as much as they deserve. Original Ringer is Asian. Movie Ringer is not. I think there’s a problem here. 

As much as I think Maika Monroe and Chloe Moretz are beautiful talented actors, I do not believe the embody the Cassie and Ringer that I know and love. I think every bookaholic’s heart trembles a little bit when there is a movie that comes out for the books they love because of the bad representation of characters and how mainstream people say that they “loved the movie, and wait, there’s a book?”  Sigh. #booknerdproblems


The movie was mediocre and not even close to being what the book was to me. Fifth Wave- the real Fifth Wave was an absolutely amazing and new take on the alien apocalypse. There are so many books in the sci-fi mush pot, but Fifth Wave was really something else. 

I loved the realness of it; how it wasn’t overdramatize or bland. The apocalypse was something that happened to a normal, everyday girl, and made me want to look outside my window to check for any looming space crafts. Rick Yancey has a special way for words that just encapsules everything I look for and love in a good science fiction book.


 I know that since there is a movie out, there is going to be a whole new batch of Fifth Wave fandom newbies that don’t even know there was a book out first, so let’s all just join virtual hands and make a blood pact to uphold each other during the movie newbie phase. Seal it with a wyrdmark. 


I give the Fifth Wave book 4.9 STARS.

I give the movie 2 STARS. 


Review by Annabel Lee

~Thank you so much for taking your PRECIOUS PRECIOUS time to read a mere human being’s opinions. I love you! Please show some love back by commenting!

 

One thought on “Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey

Leave a Reply

