Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Scarlet is all alone. Grandmother-gone. Friends and family? Don’t even. Still, this spunky gal will pursue on finding her grandmother,
discouragements or not. Cinder and her gang
continues their epic quest. Meanwhile, Scarlet meets a mysterious stranger who is willing to help her search, but is he to be trusted?

Let me just start by trying to convey the awesomely insane brilliance that is the Lunar Chronicles. I feel like a broken record repeating this again and again, but if you have not obsessively read every single book that is out (currently), and crazily raved about it to every single other human life form in contact, you need to go back to the moon, alien.

Before I start talking about Scarlet, let me just warn you beforehand that the Lunar Chronicles series will suck you in a deep dark space vortex and never let you out. I am speaking from my heart and soul when I say, this series will cause your mind to literally blow up. Like seriously. Kaboom. Mind blown.

The reason I’m creating a post just especially for my beaut Scarlet here is because I am absolutely convinced that I will never again come to love a sequel like I loved this one. I am obsessed like a parent to a favorite child. You can call me biased, but I love the fairy tale Red Riding Hood and I sure as heck love Scarlet herself.

I love my strong, sassy female characters, but what kind of gets me is when characters are pissy just for the sake of being pissy- I wouldn’t call that spunk and sass, that’s just being downright rude. Scarlet on the other hand has every right to be a back-talking, standing-up-for-what-she-thinks personality. With red hair to grace the image, she is an image of a perfectly created character. Each time Scarlet takes the stage, I’m thinking, “Asjdhkahdlkhakh! How! Why! What! I can’t! It’s too perfect!”

The plot line is beautiful woven together with Cinder’s epic adventures, and even introduces an awesome new character, who by the way, is second favorite to Scarlet. Captain (not really) Carswell Thorne. I love this character because he doesn’t seem like a hastily dropped bomb. There’s deep characterization, plot, and insight to the whole idea of Thorne and he also (kind of spoiler) plays a part in the next book of the series Cress. I once was in an online chat room interview with Marissa Meyer and brilliant women she is, was asked who her husband shipped in the series.

Her husband answers: “Thorne and Iko. That’s my ship.” Hardy har har.

Pun intended. Ship? Iko? If you don’t get it, you have to read the book. And you WILL read the book. And you WILL fall in love with it.
Just be sure to thank me afterwards.
I give this book 4.8 STARS.

Review by Annabel Lee

~Thank you so much for taking your PRECIOUS PRECIOUS time to read a mere human being’s opinions. I love you! Please show some love back by commenting!

Leave a Reply

