The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Abrobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas- together in one edition for the first time- Celaena embarks on five daring missions.

This book is a prequel to the Throne of Glass series filled with separate short stories that are absolutely fabtastically unicorn-ly perfect. This book is none other than perfection


Okay, this is a total side comment, but speaking of novellas-

eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, Stars Above came out like last week. Yes, February 2, 2016, a book containing a series of novellas by Marissa Meyer on The Lunar Chronicles is being sold to the public. You cannot believe how excited I am. I preordered this book back in December, so I’ve been waiting for quiiiittteee the while now. It has already arrived, and I will do a review on it MAYBE sometime today?


Okay back to The Assassin’s Blade.

Before reading this book I was a loyal member of Team Chaol (thanks for that Sarah J. Maas), but now. Goodness goshness. Team Sam Cortland so hard it’ll send all the other ships into a different dimension. 

This book means the world to me. It made the rest of the series so much more complete, and when I thought my world was a hollow shell of no more Throne of Glass books, I found this little gem here. Assassin’s Blade is an explanation of why Celaena is the way she is-why she is the beautiful, broken down, badass, heroine I know and love. 


My Queen of Shadow review has the most views on this blog, and thank you everyone who read that post, but let me just say right now; Queen of Shadow doesn’t even begin to compare to this book. This book is the reason I read Sarah J. Maas’ novels, and the reason I love reading books in general. 


This book is literally a representation of why I am what I am (I am a little creature that is made up of Young Adult books, red sweater lint, and old book smell, that lives in a small burrow up on the high shelves of the public library). 

I honestly felt so much more with this book vs. the whole rest of the series. But it wasn’t a competition, because Assassin’s Blade just completed the series. It filled a void inside of me that caused by finishing the Queen of Shadows. Every bookaholic knows that feeling of finishing the last book of a loved series. 

1.You feel betrayed

2.The death of your best friend sinks in

3.You lose it and go completely numb

This book was the medicine for this End of Series Syndrome. I’m not saying that this book won’t leave you with a whole other condition, but…


THE ENDING TO THIS BOOK. JUST PREPARE TO BE LIKE THIS:


 

Review by Annabel Lee

~Thank you so much for taking your PRECIOUS PRECIOUS time to read a mere human being’s opinions. I love you! Please show some love back by commenting!

Leave a Reply

