Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor is a new student. She has curly red hair, an atrocious sense of fashion and no friends. Until she meets green eyed Park- a half Korean, half American boy. Their bizarre relationship takes off on the school bus from comic books and music, and turns into a love that is passionate despite the horrific broken pieces. 


Foreword: This review is going to be a bit shorter than the rest, especially after that long Illuminae review. 


Eleanor & Park was deliriously beautiful. Delirious, I think, is the only word to describe it. I finished this book like a starving wolf. 


Me reading this book was a step outside my comfort zone because if you’ve read my Illuminae Review <<{click to see that review in a new window}, you would know how I feel about romance novels. (Spolier alert: I don’t like them very much).

But this book! This book! This book is an absolute gem. 

I had gotten this book as a recommendation by my school librarian, and I went into it as a blank slate. This was my first book by Rainbow Rowell, and had I known she was SUCH A FABULOUS WRITER I would’ve had much more expectations from it. That being said, Eleanor & Park wins Annabel’s Award for the Best Character Development ever. I absolutely fell in complete love with Park’s parents and in contrast hated Eleanor’s so-called “parents” with a burning passion. 

Park’s parents were by far my favorite characters and they weren’t even the main. Their individual voices were just glorious. Their love story is an example of how love can conquer any barriers-race or distance or culture and more. Eleanor’s “parents” were the stark opposite of that how dangerous and destroying love is.

I have only one thing to say about love: I love this book. I love the ending. After reading some more books by Rowell I’ve come to embrace her hard hitting, brace-for-it endings. Eleanor & Park was not an exception. 

This book is up there with my favorites, and I really did not expect that, because I’m more of the dragons, cyborgs, and apocalypses type of gal, but goodness goshness. Eleanor & Park.

You gotta love them. You just gotta. 


I give this book 4 STARS.


Review by Annabel Lee

~Thank you so much for taking your PRECIOUS PRECIOUS time to read a mere human being’s opinions. I love you! Please show some love back by commenting!

Leave a Reply

