Walk On Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson

Only Leah’s parents knew about her special gift of being able to sense and find gold. Now that they were dead, the secret was only known to her.

Leah is taken into guardian by an mischievous uncle whom she suspects for the murder of her parents. After her best friend Jefferson’s leave to California,  decides she needs to flee uncle and follow her friend. Disguising herself as a boy named Lee, she makes the adventurous and arduous trek 

across the United States nation during the gold rush with only her horse Peony and a determined heart.

I saw this book on the shelf of the public library (I know, all my reviews make me sound like a lonely ghost haunting the public library, but seriously, I promise I have a life), and I just knew I had to read it. First of all, the book is gorgeous, the metallic gold accents were beautiful and eye catching. I know the saying, “Don’t judge a book by its cover, but honestly, who doesn’t judge a book by its cover? The cover is like the first thing that makes or breaks my decision of reading the book. 


The story line seemed enticing as well. I mean, a historical fiction novel with elements of fantasy and magic? Yes pu-leez. 

This book was fast paced, attention holding novel that gave me a lot more than expected. Especially when you’ve found a book by just Shelf Browsing (eyeballing random books at the library), it’s hard to find a completely new book that you really get into. 

The first few pages that show Lee’s parents- when they were alive- make you really love them and care for them. They both showed genuine love towards Lee, and just the parent-daughter relationship was sweet. 

Also when Lee was on the road pretending to be a guy, it was really well written and believable. The problems she runs into and people she meets are interesting.

 The journey to California also seemed real, and I could see the author really out lots of research time into it.


In the beginning of the book, I couldn’t really care much for the main characters, and didn’t have much reason to root for Jefferson x Leah, but then when most the men on the journey become sexist pigs after finding out she’s a girl, Jefferson defends her, and my heart just…

I also have to give a round of applause to the author because this strange mix of historical and magic fiction is an unusual genre and she bravely and brilliantly executed it. 

I give this book 4 STARS. 

Overall, for a book I went into blind, I think it was an okay book. I didn’t get very emotionally attached to the characters, and I’m not dying to read the next book, but it was a good read nonetheless. 

Review by Annabel Lee

~Thank you so much for taking your PRECIOUS PRECIOUS time to read a mere human being’s opinions. I love you! Please show some love back by commenting!

Leave a Reply

