Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Aelin is back like never before. She is,”a fire-breathing bitch queen,” and fire breaths she does. Celaena Sardothien is no more, and Aelin is going to stop running and stand to reclaim what is hers. She will fight against the people who have made her broken, made her a monster- the monsters who have broken her loved ones. 


Okay, now can everyone agree with me that Sarah J. Maas is a genius? Like seriously, I can’t believe I held on through all four of the Throne of Glass series! 


In all honesty, I was very sad when I realized there was no more trips to the library to grab hold of the next book. First of all, let me explain- I actually became very friendly with the local librarian who now recognizes me every time I walk in; all thanks to Miss Celaena Sardothien- or Aelin. Every time I would walk in, the librarian would check in the returned book and wordlessly reach under the desk to pull out the next. When I was finished with the first three books in the series the librarian kindly told me that they had Queen of Shadows pre-ordered especially for me… But of course, I impatiently ran to the nearest Barnes & Nobel the day it released and snatched it up. Now it is home with me. 


Although in all this series holds a special place in my heart, I had mixed feelings about Queen of Shadows. 


First and foremost, bravo Sarah J. Maas, you have done it again. I don’t know what it was with this series, but I had to read it every spare moment of my life! Literally. You would find me reading it during meals, while brushing my teeth, before bed, and if there were ever a world-wide zombie apocalypse I’d probably still be reading. This book is mesmerizing, and totally takes over your life, but is it phenomenal, with fabulous writing and a plot line to die for? I honestly would have to say: I don’t think so. 


The Throne of Glass series is great at spinning beautiful, enigmatic characters that I became so attached to. The action, the emotion, and the mental movie in my mind kept it going, but in truth, the book had a bit of a drag. One thing that kept being a repetitive bumpy seam was that: Aelin is beautiful. I mean, I totally get it, she’s perfect, she’s beautiful, she’s lean and fit and all that, but that wasn’t what I loved about her. I didn’t marvel at her beauty and how every single male character falls for her pretty face every single gosh darn time. I marveled at her fresh attitude- the kickbuttness, I loved the way she didn’t care, the way she was strong and bold and downright epic. I didn’t want a pretty Disney princess from Celaena Sardothien, yet that’s what kept being brought up. 


That being said, by no means did Queen of Shadows disappoint on the sass. Now on a more positive note, one of the best things that ever happened in the whole series: Aelin actually makes a friend in this book. Yes, a friend. Not a lover, not a killer-demon thing, not a psycho childhood (creepy, annoying) lover who later gets stabbed (good riddance), but a friend. I won’t spoil much, but this new human interaction with Aelin makes me feel like a proud mother hen. 

“Ohh! My daughter actually made a friend today!” 


Except, you know… she’s also an assassin. Ha.. ha…ha. 


Continuing on the good side, the ending to this series did not fail me. Although I would rather this series to never ever stop, the end was worth it. The final boom crash (and snap, crackle, pop) truly delivered, and when I closed this book I literally said out loud. I am satisfied with the world. Yes, I really am. Okay, now, GO. RUN to the nearest bookstore like I did and get Queen of Shadows. Although I had my ups and downs with this last novel, it gave me everything I wanted from this series. If you are in debate about finishing this series, I totally get it- I never wanted it to stop, but trust me when I say: the ending to this book, will complete your life. If you finished and loved the first three books, you need this one in your life. Pinkie promise.


I give this book 5 STARS.


Review by Annabel Lee

~Thank you so much for taking your PRECIOUS PRECIOUS time to read a mere human being’s opinions. I love you! Please show some love back by commenting!

2 thoughts on “Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Ugh, I totally know what you mean about the constant mention of Aelin’s beauty! Like yeah okay we get it, but as I’m sure most readers of this book are female, we just want to hear more about her being a badass! Did you feel that Heir of Fire dragged? I thought it was soooo slow at times, but found queen of shadows to be much quicker and more action packed. Here’s my review of this book… I think we have pretty similar opinions! https://nikolieolieoh.com/2016/02/08/queen-of-shadows-by-sarah-j-maas/

    Like

Leave a Reply

