Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Kady, and her “ex-boyfriend”, Ezra are abruptly pulled back together when her planet is invaded. Ending up in separate ships with other survivors, they band back together and discover that they are not being told the whole truth. Using her ingenious hacking skills, Kady uncovers disturbing information, and together Ezra and Kady unsolve the mystery of the ship’s artificial intelligence. 

WARNING: Be prepared for complete absolute insaneness and melodramatics. This is g
oing to be a little bit longer than most of my posts because come on- its Illuminae.

Wow. Just wow. No really. WOOOOOWWWW. 

I wholeheartedly and without a doubt give this book the prestigious award for Annabel’s Favorite Book in the whole wide world. Galaxy. Universe.

Okay, okay, I know I rave about books almost constantly, but I am not at all even exaggerating the least bit when I say, Illuminae was a complete masterpiece and work of art. 

Pat yourself on the back Amie and Jay.


First of all, storytime again.

In the public library, right behind the Young Adult section, are the Adult Romance novels. I know, great organization, library people. Anyways, so whenever I passed by that Adult Romance section with their oh so alluring covers with the swooning girl with the slit up her skirt that your mom won’t approve of and the buffed up guy (get a shirt dude), a part of my heart always shrivels up and peels away. BECAUSE seriously- I am so sorry if I am offending you but I feel like so many times trashy romance novels are just out to sell for money. Because sex sells. 

Whenever I walk post those books my heart hurts because it feels like humanity just lost it’s humaneness a little bit, and the elegance and art of BOOKS (paper and ink) feels neglected.


I bet your thinking, “Annabel, where are you going with this?”

And here it is: Illuminae just rekindled and stitched back together all my shriveled heart pieces that fell out between those Adult Romance shelves in the public library. 


I had hit that terrible terrible time *dabs eyes* that every bookaholic will sooner or later know- that ice age of not being able to get into any new books. 


I had finished reading Winter, the last book in the Lunar Chronicles series, and I felt an empty void in my heart, like I had lost a puppy (kitty) or something. 

Hey, call me an extremist, but when it got into my head that the Lunar Chronicles were over, I hit an all time low. 

I know, I’m insane, but for the next seven or so books that I read, they all seemed bland and passionless. 


THEN ONE DAY. I MET ILLUMINAE.

*dun dun dunnnnnnnnnn*

First of all, can I just obsess over how completely glorious the book cover is?! I felt like I was showing off a new million dollar purse when I carried this book around absolutely everywhere. The format is just. I can’t.

This book is told through files. Surveillence cameras, interview recordings, websites, code, things like that. This is ingeniously original and I love it to death.

Yes, the cover is brilliant, but the inside, is even better. 

Like how? What? 


asdkfhsjalsdakacjdmanaoweqiwjanawndklalidhfoah;foiasyhfaesfohasdofihasoifhdoashfioadshfoaisdhfoidhasfoihadfiodhasfobndscoibdnsvoidnscovincoinasdnfdiascniodasncioadnscin


DOES NOT COMPUTE


Obviously, I am just an emotionless, calm, robot girl, and I am way too quiet and composed and stuff for you to believe what I am about to tell you, but…

I literally cried during this book. I CRIED. Once. Almost twice. 


Okay- I promise no spoiler, but I’ll say (scream passionately) one word: RECORDING.

If you’ve already read the book than you must know what I went through.


Since this post is getting quite long, I’ll cut to the chase. 

This book is the reason of my existence. I live and breath to find pure, raw, diamonds like this. The story. The story is absolutely completely beautiful. It showed me the epitome of why I love literature. 


I give this book 10000000000000000 STARS.


IF YOU DO NOT GO READ THIS BOOK I WILL FIND YOU AND CHASE YOU DOWN AND FILL YOUR HOUSE FROM FLOOR TO CEILING WITH COPIES OF THIS BOOK AND CAT BOOKMARKS.


(Quite a hectic) Review by Annabel Lee

~Thank you so much for taking your PRECIOUS PRECIOUS time to read a mere human being’s opinions. I love you! Please show some love back by commenting!

Leave a Reply

